The Board of Trustees of the Herreshoff Marine Museum (Bristol, R.I.), has announced the addition of two members to the Selection Committee for its America’s Cup Hall of Fame, continuing a process that in the last two years has added half a dozen selectors from around the world.

Robert Fisher (United Kingdom) and Robert Mundle (Australia) bring impressive credentials to the Selection Committee’s next task, that of selecting the Class of 2006 to induct into the America’s Cup Hall of Fame. “Together, Bob Fisher and Rob Mundle know virtually all the players in the modern history of the America’s Cup,” said John Burnham, Chairman of the Selection Committee, in acknowledging the committee’s new members. “This is critical to our increasingly difficult task as the number of sailors, designers, and technical specialists involved in the Cup has dramatically increased in the last three decades.”

Fisher grew up in Brightlingsea, Essex, where crewmembers from Shamrock and Endeavour could often be seen wearing their crew sweaters. For newspapers, magazines, television, and radio, Fisher has covered every America’s Cup since 1967, and he’s currently writing a definitive history of the event. He has also authored “The Fastnet Disaster and After” on the tragic 1979 race.

Mundle has reported on six America’s Cup matches for Australian papers and television, including live coverage of Australia II’s historic 1983 victory. Based for most of his career in Sydney, Mundle has also written authorized biographies of two America’s Cup Hall of Famers, Sir James Hardy and Alan Bond, and he wrote the bestseller Fatal Storm about the tragic 1998 Sydney-Hobart Race.

Both Mundle and Fisher are accomplished sailors with a number of world, national and regional championships to their credit. Mundle also crewed briefly aboard one of Hardy’s 12-Meters in the early ‘70s, and Fisher once won the Little America’s Cup, the cataraman equivalent of the America’s Cup.

The full America’s Cup Hall of Fame Selection Committee is as follows: John Burnham (Chairman). Henry H. Anderson, Jr., B. Devereux Barker, III, Bruno Bich, Dr. William Collier, Edward I. du Moulin, Robert Fisher, Halsey C. Herreshoff, N. G. Herreshoff, III, Frederick E. Hood, William H. Dyer Jones, Bruce Kirby, Stanley Livingston, Jr., Elizabeth E. Meyer, Peter Montgomery, Robert Mundle, David M. Philips, John Rousmaniere, Olin J. Stephens, II, Bruno Troublé, William G. Winterer.

Many Selection Committee members and current Hall of Fame members will be on hand to formally induct the previously announced class of 2005 into the Hall of Fame in October. The 2005 Rolex America’s Cup Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Friday, October 14th, in San Francisco at the St. Francis Yacht Club, co-hosted by the Herreshoff Marine Museum.

Alan Payne (Australia), Jack Sutphen (United States), and George “Fritz” Jewett, Jr. (United States) will be recognized for their achievements in different support roles—as designer, trial-horse helmsman, and syndicate manager, respectively. Payne, the deceased designer of Gretel I and Gretel II, will be represented by family members.

“Competing at a high level for the America’s Cup requires a team effort,” said Burnham, “and these three individuals each made significant contributions to the competitiveness of their teams. With two of them hailing from California, where the Cup has always drawn a great deal of talent, it’s appropriate that we’re celebrating at St. Francis YC.”